The Environment Foundation

Sowing the seeds of asustainable future.gif




John Elkington:
A Trustee since 1994 and Chair of the Foundation since 1995, John Elkington is a founder and now Chief Entrepreneur at the strategic management consultancy and think-tank, SustainAbility Ltd, having worked in the environmental field for well over 30 years. He has consulted with companies, government organisations and NGOs. He is the author or co-author of 16 books, most recently The Chrysalis Economy (Capstone/John Wiley 2001). In 1989, he was elected to the UN Global 500 Roll of Honour for his "outstanding environmental achievements".

Dr Malcolm Aickin TD:
A founding Trustee of the Foundation, Dr Aickin has been Chair of The Environment Council since 1988. He worked on environmental liabilities in the insurance industry for ten years and was a principal at the environmental consultancy Dames and Moore. He is also Chair of the RMC Environment Fund and Chair of ebco: the Environmental Bodies Council.

Kate Burningham:
A trustee since 2008, Kate Burningham is Senior Lecturer in sociology of the environment in the Department of Sociology and the Centre for Environmental Strategy (CES) at the University of Surrey. She has conducted research for The Environment Agency, the ESRC and the Joseph Rowntree Foundation and published primarily around the issues of public participation in environmental decision making; local responses to environmental change and environmental inequalities.

Ian Christie:
A Trustee since 1998, Ian Christie is Associate Director of the Local Futures Group and a research associate of the independent think-tank Demos, of which he was until early 1999 Deputy/Acting Director. He has also worked with the Henley Centre for Forecasting and the Policy Studies Institute. He has written widely on environmental issues, regeneration and business involvement in the community, including Managing Sustainable Development (with Professor Michael Carley).

John Lotherington:
A trustee since 2009, John Lotherington is Director of Seminars for the Salzburg Global Seminar (SGS). The SGS seminars bring together present and prospective leaders, from countries worldwide and from diverse professional backgrounds, including government, business, NGOs, academe, the media and other sectors to challenge each other's thinking from diverse perspectives, identify the major issues and opportunities facing them and the world in the decades ahead, and better inform their decision-taking and opinion-leading. Sustainable development is a key concern for SGS.

John Lotherington was previously Director of the 21st Century Trust, though he began his career in history education and also maintains an interest in that area. His publications as editor and author include Years of Renewal: European History 1470-1600 (London: Hodder & Stoughton, 2nd ed. 1999); The Seven Ages of Life (London: Centre for Reform, 2002); The Tudor Years (London: Hodder & Stoughton, 2nd ed. 2003); and introductions to The Florentine Histories by Niccolo Machiavelli (New York: Barnes & Noble, 2004) and The Book of the Courtier by Baldesar Castiglione (New York: Barnes & Noble, 2005).

Jane Nelson:
A trustee since 1998, Jane Nelson is Senior Fellow at the Mossavar-Rahmani Center for Business and Government and Director of the Corporate Social Responsibility Initiative at the Kennedy School of Government, Harvard University. She is also Director of Business Leadership & Strategy at International Business Leaders Forum and a non-resident Senior Fellow of the Brookings Institution. Jane has previously been Vice-President at Citibank, lecturer in agricultural economics at Natal University in South Africa, and a consultant to a range of international organisations. Author and co-author of several books and reports on the role of business in development, she is on a number of international advisory boards. Educated in Africa, the USA and Europe, Jane is a Fellow of the 21st Century Trust, an Aspen Institute Scholar and a former Rhodes Scholar.

Tim O’Donovan:
A Trustee since 1985 and Treasurer of the Foundation since 1998, Tim O’Donovan played a significant role in the Foundation’s environmental awards schemes, as Chair of the Steering Group. He is Honorary Secretary of The Friends of St George’s Chapel, Windsor.


Director Halina Ward:
Halina Ward joined the Environment Foundation as Director in April 2009 to lead the Foundation's work on Democracy and Sustainable Development. Before joining the Foundation, Halina was Director of the Business and Sustainable Development Programme with the International Institute for Environment and Development. She has also worked as a Senior Fellow at the Royal Institute of International Affairs (Chatham House), as a Senior Consultant for the consultancy ERM, and as a solicitor practising commercial environment law. Halina speaks Spanish, French, Russian and Polish and has an LLB and an LLM from the University of London. She is a member of the Scientific Committee of Vigeo, the Paris-headquartered social ratings agency. From 2006-2009, Halina was a Trustee of the Environment Foundation.